advocates for education reform that supports the 11 Principles of Effective Character Education, this includes but is not limited to: character and civics education, student voice and choice, teacher leadership, alternative approaches to school discipline, family partnerships and community engagement.

Learn more about ESSA
The Alliance for Excellent Education offers a variety of helpful resources on ESSA from fact sheets to videos. Visit the A4Ed ESSA homepage >>

ASCD’s ESSA webpage offers an ESSA timeline, as well as other useful documents and a recorded webinar. Visit the ASCD ESSA homepage >>

We need your help! Under ESSA, school districts will be able to apply to the “Student Support and Academic Enrichment Grant Program”. Congress authorized a budget allocation of $1.65 billion for this program, which can fund a variety of programs including character development and school climate initiatives.

However, President Obama’s budget only proposes $500 million for this program. In order to ensure that ESSA is as impactful as it can be, we need to make sure there is adequate funding in place.

There are two letters currently circulating, one on the house side (read here) and one on the Senate side (read here). They both advocate for the full amount that Obama authorized to be put back into the education budget.

The most effective way for you to make your voice heard right now is by calling your senator or representatives offices or tweeting at their Twitter handles. You can find the phone number and Twitter handles for the appropriations committee representatives in the tables below.

We appreciate your time and dedication to advocating that young people everywhere receive the resources they need to thrive.

Here’s a sample tweet you can use*: Prioritize the #wholechild by increasing the budget for the Student Support & Academic Enrichment Grant Program!

*remember to include a senator or representative’s twitter handle from the list below

Not sure who your representative is? Find out here!

Senate Appropriations Committee
Click for contact information

SenatorStateTwitter HandlePhone Number
Lisa MurkowskiAK@lisamurkowski(202) 224-6665
Richard ShelbyAL@SenShelby(202) 224-5744
John BoozmanAR@JohnBoozman(202) 224-4843
Dianne FeinsteinCA@SenFeinstein(202) 224-3841
Chris MurphyCT@ChrisMurphyCT(202) 224-4041
Christopher CoonsDE@ChrisCoons(202) 224-5042
Brian SchatzHI@SenBrianSchatz(202) 224-3934
Richard DurbinIL@SenatorDurbin(202) 224-2152
Mark KirkIL@SenatorKirk(202) 224-2854
Jerry MoranKS@JerryMoran(202) 224-6521
Mitch McConnellKY@SenateMajLdr(202) 224-2541
Bill CassidyLA@BillCassidy(202) 224-5824
Barbara MikulskiMD@SenatorBarb(202) 224-4654
Susan CollinsME@SenatorCollins(202) 224-2523
Roy BluntMO@RoyBlunt(202) 224-5721
Ted CochranMS@SenThadCochran(202) 224-5054
Jon TesterMT@SenatorTester(202) 224-2644
Steve DainesMT@SteveDaines(202) 224-2651
John HoevenND@SenJohnHoeven(202) 224-2551
Jeanne ShaheenNH@SenatorShaheen(202) 224-2841
Tom UdallNM@SenatorTomUdall(202) 224-6621
James LankfordOK@SenatorLankford(202) 224-5754
Jeff MerkleyOR@SenJeffMerkley(202) 224-3753
Jack ReedRI@SenJackReed(202) 224-4642
Lindsey GrahamSC@GrahamBlog(202) 224-5972
Lamar AlexanderTN@SenAlexander(202) 224-4944
Patrick LeahyVT@SenatorLeahy(202) 224-4242
Patty MurrayWA@PattyMurray(202) 224-2621
Tammy BaldwinWI@SenatorBaldwin(202) 224-5653
Shelley Moore CapitoWV@SenCapito(202) 224-6472

House Appropriations Committee
Click for contact information

RepresentativeStateTwitter HandlePhone Number
Robert B. AderholtAL@Robert_Aderholt(202) 225-4876
Martha RobyAL@RepMarthaRoby(202) 225-2901
Steve WomackAR@rep_stevewomack(202) 225-4301
Sam FarrCA@RepSamFarr(202) 225-2861
Michael M. HondaCA@RepMikeHonda(202) 225-2631
Lucille Roybal-AllardCA@RepRoybalAllard(202) 225-1766
Ken CalvertCA@KenCalvert(202) 225-1986
David ValadaoCA@RepDavidValadao(202) 225-4695
Barbara LeeCA@RepBarbaraLee(202) 225-2661
Rosa L. DeLauroCT@rosadelauro(202) 225-3661
Tom RooneyFL@TomRooney(202) 225-5792
Mario Diaz-BalartFL@MarioDB(202) 225-4211
Debbie Wasserman SchultzFL@RepDWStweets(202) 225-7931
David JollyFL@USRepDavidJolly(202) 225-5961
Ander CrenshawFL@AnderCrenshaw(202) 225-2501
Tom GravesGA@RepTomGraves(202) 225-5211
Sanford D. Bishop, JrGA@SanfordBishop(202) 225-3631
David YoungIA@RepDavidYoung(202) 225-5476
Michael SimpsonID@CongMikeSimpson(202) 225-5531
Mike QuigleyIL@RepMikeQuigley(202) 225-4061
Peter J. ViscloskyIN@RepVisclosky(202) 225-2461
Kevin YoderKS@RepKevinYoder(202) 225-2865
Harold RogersKY@RepHalRogers(202) 225-4601
C.A. Dutch RuppersbergerMD@Call_Me_Dutch(202) 225-3061
Andy HarrisMD@RepAndyHarrisMD(202) 225-5311
Chellie PingreeME@chelliepingree(202) 225-6116
Betty McCollumMN@BettyMcCollum04(202) 225-6631
Steven PalazzoMS@CongPalazzo(202) 225-5772
David E. PriceNC@RepDavidEPrice(202) 225-1784
Jeff FortenberryNE@JeffFortenberry(202) 225-3271
Rodney P. FrelinghuysenNJ@USRepRodney(202) 225-5034
Mark AmodeiNV@MarkAmodeiNV2(202) 225-6155
Steve IsraelNY@RepSteveIsrael(202) 225-3335
Nita M. LoweyNY@NitaLowey(202) 225-6506
José E. SerranoNY@RepJoseSerrano(202) 225-4361
Tim RyanOH@RepTimRyan(202) 225-5261
Marcy KapturOH@RepMarcyKaptur(202) 225-4146
David JoyceOH@RepDaveJoyce(202) 225-5731
Tom ColeOK@TomColeOK04(202) 225-6165
Charles W. DentPA@RepCharlieDent(202) 225-6411
Chaka FattahPA@chakafattah(202) 225-4001
Chuck FleischmannTN@RepChuck(202) 225-3271
Kay GrangerTX@RepKayGranger(202) 225-5071
John R. CarterTX@JudgeCarter(202) 225-3864
John CulbersonTX@johnculberson(202) 225-2571
Henry CuellarTX@RepCuellar(202) 225-1640
Chris StewartUT@RepChrisStewart(202) 225-9730
Scott RigellVA@RepScottRigell(202) 225-4215
Jaime Herrera BeutlerWA@HerreraBeutler(202) 225-3484
Derek KilmerWA@RepDerekKilmer(202) 225-5916
Evan JenkinsWV@RepEvanJenkins(202) 225-3452